Taking It All In

Today I decided to do something a  bit different. On the weekends I take a long walk through the port and down to my favorite beach. Today and yesterday have been absolutely perfect weather wise. The sun is shining, not a cloud in the sky and the temperature is about 70 degrees. I couldn’t ask for a better day. I always grab my keys and iPod and head out the door. But, this time instead of immediately shoving my headphones in my ears and shutting out the world, I decided to listen to the outdoors. Quite frankly I am getting tired of my music and sadly Spain is behind when it comes to getting rights to use Pandora. So for this reason, I am on my own.

I walked much slower than I’m used to and it gave me a chance to look at the scenery. The port had a glow to it from the sun covering every inch it possibly could with its beaming rays. I walked down where the cruise ships come in and watched as the tourists from near and far trickled off the ship. As I walked passed them I must have counted 10 different languages that people were speaking. Clearly I didn’t have the slightest idea what people were saying but it was interesting to listen to. What really caught me off guard was the group of Americans I passed on my way. I’m not used to hearing English, so when I did it made me think of home.

The slower pace got me to think about my time here and how I am more than halfway through my trip. Spain has taught me more than enough to last a lifetime. They have a different way of life than what I’m used to back home. They are much more relaxed and don’t take life so seriously. They know the value of living and I believe they respect the time they have on this earth.

My host mom and I had a chat today about life. How it is so short . If we have bad thoughts in our minds that we have the ability to change them. It’s our choice of how we want to live our lives and that we need to cherish what we have. Life is too short to have bad thoughts. We’ll miss out on the most important moments if we are stuck thinking of the bad rather than enjoying the good.

Today got me thinking about how much I miss home. I am excited for our upcoming excursions and plan to enjoy them to the fullest. Sometimes I just wish I could be experiencing all of this with the ones I love. And soon enough the time will fly by and I’ll be home once again. Until then, I am taking Emma’s advice and experiencing Málaga with a new set of eyes.

Besos,

Natalia

2 thoughts on “Taking It All In

  1. Hola Natalia,,

    I am a friend of your Mom from way back when. I really enjoy reading your posts. I especially liked “Taking It All In”. I have family in Galicia and Madrid (on my husband’s side) and can really relate to your points of view. This is a awesome experience and one that you will never forget. Enjoy!!

  2. Hello Niece Natalia!
    We miss you & Love you!
    I am glad to hear you are walking and taking in the sights as well as the sounds!
    I hope all is well with you. It sounds like you are experiencing and appreciating life the way it is meant to be.
    Are you speaking in Spanish while you are there with your host family and classmates? Have you met any interesting people?
    I saw the pictures you posted for your brother on Facebook (cousin Lisa showed me), they were nice and boy where did the time go.
    I can’t wait to see you to take in some movies and walks and dinner.
    Love Auntie Ree Ree

Leave a Reply

